Announcing:

2014 Inductees, CQ Amateur Radio, Contest, and DX Halls of Fame

he CQ Amateur Radio, Contest, and DX Halls of Fame honor the "heroes" of our hobby ... people whose contributions to the art, science, and sport of amateur radio put them on a pedestal as examples to the rest of us. We are pleased to announce the 2014 inductions.

This year, we induct two new members each to the CQ DX Hall of Fame and the CQ Contest Hall of Fame, as well as eight new inductees to the CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame.

CQ DX Hall of Fame

Our two inductees to the CQ DX Hall of Fame this year are: Joe Reisert, W1JR, a DXer and DXpeditioner since the 1950s, Joe has DXCC Mixed, Phone, CW, Digital, and QRP with over 300 entities confirmed for each, along with 13-band Worked All States, 13-band Worked All Continents, and CQ's USA-CA All Counties award. Joe is also a pioneer in 432-MHz EME (Earth-Moon-Earth) communications, ran his own antenna manufacturing company (Antennaco), and is a prolific writer and public speaker.

David Collingham, K3LP, is a leading DXer and DXpeditioner who is also focused on using amateur radio as an educational tool, at home and around the world. David has played a key role in many major DXpeditions over the past two decades, including XZ1J, 706T, TI5W, ET3AA, 3D2R, STØR, YI9PSE, 5A7A, VU4AN/VU3RWO, and T33C. He has equipped a complete station at his hometown elementary school and has taught amateur radio to young people in Iraq (where he gave a presentation at a school about technology and amateur radio), Ethiopia (where he brought a team of volunteer examiners to conduct U.S. license testing for 58 students at Addis Ababa Technology University), and Rotuma, Fiji (where he helped establish a club station at a local high school and donated equipment to put it on the air).

CQ Contest Hall of Fame

The two newest members of the CQ Contest Hall of Fame are:

J. Scott Redd, KØDQ, is already a member of the CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame for his service to our nation as an Admiral, Deputy Administrator of the Coalition Provisional Authority in Iraq, and the first Director of the National Counterterrorism Center. He was also director of the commission that investigated intelligence-gathering leading up to the Iraq war. Scott has always found time within his professional duties for amateur radio and his first love, contesting. His first major wins were in the 1970s (ARRL DX SSB & CW, CQ WW SSB, and CQ WW WPX SSB); his most recent in 2008 (WPX CW) and 2012 (U.S. single-op, ARRL DX CW). Scott is one of only two people to have won the single-operator category of all of the world's major contests. He will be among the competitors representing the United States this month in the 2014 World Radiosport Team Championship contest (WRTC).

Ed Muns, WØYK, is a noted RTTY contester with nine single-op all-band and one multi-two championships and six world records. Ed is also Director of the CQ World-Wide RTTY DX and RTTY WPX Contests, and manager of the North American Sprint RTTY Contesting until 2004. Along the way, though, he participated in several DXpeditions and became a "big gun" in CW contesting. Over the past decade, Ed has become the world's top RTTY contester. He is also very active in the Northern California Contest Club and is a past club officer and director.

A note on nominations: Nominations for the CQ Contest and DX Halls of Fame may now be submitted by any indi-



CQ DX Hall of Fame inductee Joe Reisert, W1JR, shown displaying the inaugural DX Marathon plaque for Top CW score in 2011.



CQ DX Hall of Fame inductee David Collingham, K3LP, on one of his many foreign trips. (Photo courtesy K3LP)



CQ World Wide DX Contest Director Randy Thompson, K5ZD (left), presents the CQ Contest Hall of Fame plaque to 2014 inductee J. Scott Redd, K0DQ, at the Dayton contest dinner. (Photo by and courtesy of Bob Wilson, N6TV)



K5ZD presents 2014 CQ Contest Hall of Fame plaque to inductee and CQ RTTY Contest Director Ed Muns, W0YK, at the Dayton contest dinner. (Photo by and courtesy of Bob Wilson, N6TV)

vidual amateur, club, or organization. The previous restriction of nominations only by contest/DX clubs or national organizations has been lifted. Nominations for 2015 will be accepted between January 1 and March 1, 2015. Watch for announcement in the January 2015 issue of CQ.

CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame

The CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame honors those amateurs who have made significant contributions to amateur radio or to society at large, as well as those non-amateurs who have had a significant impact on amateur radio. All eight of the members of the 13th "class" of inductees are or were hams, but their contributions were not restricted to the world of amateur radio. In fact, two of this year's inductees truly did change the world.

The 2014 inductees to the CQ Amateur Radio Hall of Fame are (listed alphabetically):

Clifford Berry, W9TIJ, who helped usher in the computer age as co-inventor of the Atanasoff-Berry computer (or ABC), the precursor of virtually all electronic computers.

Warren Bruene, W5OLY, prolific radio designer and innovator who designed many Collins radios and helped the company introduce single-sideband voice communications.

John Huntoon, W1RW, former ARRL General Manager, *QST* Editor, helped bring about international allocation of the 30-, 17-, and 12-meter bands.

Mike Koss, W9SU, DXer and DXpeditoner; founder and owner of filter manufacturer ICE (Industrial Communications Engineers); key player in establishment of Indianapolis Motor Speedway Amateur Radio Club, W9IMS; organizer of special event station W87PAX at 1987 Pan American Games in Indianapolis.

Nancy Kott, WZ8C, former Editor of *WorldRadio* and *WorldRadio* Online and tireless promoter of Morse Code as U.S. coordinator of the FISTS CW Club. (See remembrance of Nancy in the May 2014 issue of *CQ Plus*, p. 127)

Paul Laughton, N6BVH, software designer whose accomplishments include developing Apple's disk operating system and Atari's operating system.

Ralph Showers, ex-W3GEU, expert

on electronic interference and leader of efforts to set national and international standards for electromagnetic compatibility (EMC). He holds several awards from the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).

Steve Wozniak, ex-WV6VLY and ex-WA6BND, co-founder of Apple Computers.

Congratulations to all of our inductees! Formal presentations to Contest and DX Hall of Fame inductees were made at the respective Contest and DX dinners at Dayton in May.

